I have seen following mail in my inbox couple of days back. Initially, I thought, ICICI bank wants me to reset my online banking details so I just clicked on the link mentioned in the mail. Mysteriously, I got into a site which is resembling ICICI bank. Knowing the fact that, bank never asks anyone for the password, I have decided to update my details after confirming with the bank.
I'm glad that, I have decided to confirm with the bank otherwise, I would have landed up in a big mess. The e-mail is composed in HTML. Here, the link appears as http://www.icicibank.com/signon?LOB=CONS&screenid=Update but mouse hover is showing the link as http://britrider.com/gallery/indexx.html
Fortunately, this site is now added to list of reported phishing and malware sites. Firefox browser gives you warning if you try to open this site now.
The best way to get away from these kind of problems is : manually copy-paste the link to address bar of the browser but never click on the links in the e-mail.
Report Phishing web pages here: http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/report_phish/
-- Phishing Email :---------------------------------------------------------------------
IMPORTANT NOTICE: Update Your ICICI BANK® Online Banking Account
| Dear Valued Customer, Your NetBanking Account Informations are out of date, and in accordance to our NetBanking Security Agreement to protect your account from any act of online fraud. We want you to update your Netbanking informations through our new installed IP(Internet Protocol) to help protect our custormers accounts from fraud online. This update shall help us to update your NetBanking Informations automatically when informations are out of date. Informations that are not Updated in due time shall lead to Account Suspension for Security purpose. Click on the link below to Update your account: |
Accounts Management As outlined in our User Agreement, ICICI BANK® will
periodically send you information about site changes and enhancements.
Visit our Privacy Policy and User Agreement if you have any questions.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
When I opened http://britrider.com/ after couple of days, I have found the following message :) ------------------------------------------------------------
BritRider was Hacked!!!!
This website was hacked and turned into a "phishing" site in order to gain credit card info. Here is the really really bad part of it all. EVERYTHING was deleted. The Message Board was deleted. The database for the message board is gone. Which means, all the pictures, all the threads....lost. I am sick over it. I am going to try my best to restore what I can. But it doesn't look good.









